13.0 Special Commands For Sysop Status

Source: SPITFIRE.DOCEdition: searchable Web reading editionPresentation: historical wording retained
13.0 - SPECIAL COMMANDS FOR SYSOP STATUS
        ----------------------------------------

        Definition of Sysop Status
        --------------------------

            A caller with Sysop Status is defined as any caller that has a
        security level equal to or greater than the Sysop security level set
        using SPITFIRE's ALT+Z configuration window at the "Ready..." prompt.

            The Message section has a few "Special Commands" for callers with
        Sysop Status.

            When a Message Conference is configured to allow the caller the
        ability to delete messages, it is important to note that only the
        sender and receiver can delete messages, with the exception of callers
        with Sysop Status.  Any caller with Sysop status can read, delete, and
        un-delete any message.

            Any caller with Sysop Status may enter messages into all Message
        Conferences even though the caller's security may not be equal to
        or greater than the Message Entry Security configured by the Sysop.

            The <P>rivate command is a toggle that is available to callers
        with Sysop security and can be used to toggle a non-public message to
        public or a public message to non-public.

            The <C>opy command will allow a caller with Sysop security to
        move a message to another Message Conference or copy a message within
        the same conference and forward the message to another caller other
        than the original recipient of the message.

            Last in the message arena is the <U>ndelete command.  Anyone with
        Sysop Status will automatically be able to read all the messages in
        the message base, even if the message has been deleted.  Those who see
        a message which has been marked for deletion may undelete it by using
        this command.  Callers are not able to read deleted messages unless
        their access level is equal to or greater than Sysop Status.

            When a message is Undeleted, changed from Non-public to Public or
        changed from Public to Non-public, the message is re-displayed so
        the change can be verified.  When a message is changed from Non-public
        to Public, an option is given which allows the message to be addressed
        to "All Callers".

            In the File Area, if a caller with Sysop Status attempts to upload
        a file that already exists, that caller is given the opportunity to
        overwrite the file.  The caller is warned that the file already exists
        and is given the option to overwrite it.  SPITFIRE does not allow any
        callers without Sysop Status this privilege.

        13.1 - SPECIAL COMMANDS FOR SYSOP
        ---------------------------------

            The Sysop is determined within the ALT+Z configuration window.
        The name entered as Sysop Caller Name is used by SPITFIRE to
        determine the name of the Sysop.  Messages left using the <C>omment
        to Sysop feature from the Main Menu feature are displayed to the
        person logging on under this name.

            The Sysop has some features available to them that no other callers
        have, regardless of the caller's security.  When selecting the option
        to read messages, if recognized as the Sysop, the caller is prompted as
        to whether he/she wishes to preview messages.  This feature allows the
        Sysop to read messages without the messages being marked as having been
        received.  A handy use for this feature may be when Sysops don't have
        time to respond to all their messages.  They can still read messages
        and respond to those they choose.  Callers will not see that the Sysop
        has received the message and feel slighted by the fact that there is
        no response.  Sysops can re-read messages later and respond when they
        have more time to devote to responding to messages.  Also, those with
        Sysop-Level security have an "unlimited" number of daily node chats of
        "unlimited" duration.

            The Sysop of the BBS can enter a message to SFCALLER and SPITFIRE
        handles this as a message which is addressed to every caller on the
        board.  So, when a caller logs on and performs a message scan, SPITFIRE
        will consider all messages addressed to SFCALLER as a message addressed
        to the current caller.

            Additionally, the Sysop of the BBS can enter a message addressed to
        SFCALLER<x>, where <x> is equal to a valid security level on the BBS.
        SPITFIRE will handle this as a message addressed to every caller of
        the board with the specified security level.  In other words, when a
        caller with a security level of 10 logs on and performs a message scan,
        SPITFIRE will consider any messages addressed to SFCALLER10 as a
        message addressed to the current caller.

            It is important to know how SPITFIRE handles the SFCALLER and the
        SFCALLER<x> messages entered by the Sysop.  For obvious reasons, the
        caller is not allowed to delete any message received by them and
        which is addressed to SFCALLER or SFCALLER<x>.  Secondly, the date
        the caller last logged on to the BBS is compared to the date of the
        SFCALLER/SFCALLER<x> message to determine if the message should be
        displayed to the caller.  If the date of the message is more
        recent than the date the caller last logged on, the message will
        be reported as an unreceived message to the caller when SPITFIRE
        performs a message scan.

            When using this feature, the Sysop will need to assume some
        responsibility in regard to deletion of the message.  Only the Sysop
        can mark a SFCALLER/SFCALLER<x> message for deletion.  If such a
        message is entered in a conference that allows unreceived messages to
        be purged, it will purge when the message pack is performed and the
        message is older than the configured Purge Msgs Older Than value for
        that message conference.  However, if the SFCALLER/SFCALLER<x>
        message is saved to a message conference that is configured to not
        purge unreceived messages, the Sysop must mark the message for
        deletion or it will never purge.

            SFCALLER/SFCALLER<x> MESSAGE TIP!  The ability to enter a message
        that will never purge can actually work to the Sysop's advantage.
        For instance, if the Sysop would like to keep certain messages on
        their BBS indefinitely the SFCALLER messages provide the tools by
        which to accomplish this.  Simply enter a SFCALLER/SFCALLER<x>
        message into a message conference that is configured to not allow
        unreceived messages to be purged.  One example that comes to mind, is
        a general message to all callers that explains how to disable call
        waiting prior to calling the BBS.